Nortek Security and Control KB

How do I identify what Com Ports are available on my computer?

If using the 9 pin “To comp” adapter, the port will most likely be assigned to Comm 1.  If plugging into the computer with a USB, then the device manager will list what comm ports are being used.

  1.  Select the start menu and RIGHT CLICK “Computer” or “My  Computer”.  Select the last option in the dropdown – “Properties”. 

    2.  If using a Windows XP machine, select the “Hardware” Tab to select “Device Manager”.  Otherwise, select “Device Manager” on the left side of the screen.

 

 

1 (2)
Article Rating (2 Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
How do I retrieve my list of users and controller settings?
Viewed 3139 times since Mon, Mar 15, 2010
I received a Corrupt ReposFolder.INI error message.
Viewed 4109 times since Wed, Apr 14, 2010
How do I setup system manager in Hub Manager® Pro?
Viewed 7467 times since Fri, Jul 8, 2011
Why doesn’t my modem work with Hub Manager® version 8?
Viewed 3438 times since Tue, Apr 6, 2010
I received a ’Device is not connected or unexpected device type’ error message while trying to export to the door controller.
Viewed 6770 times since Thu, Apr 15, 2010
I am trying to upgrade using my backup and it does not work.
Viewed 4505 times since Wed, Mar 24, 2010
How do I use a Dashboard?
Viewed 3336 times since Mon, Apr 19, 2010
I can’t open my downloaded installer program
Viewed 2747 times since Fri, May 14, 2010
How do I change the Hub Modem ring settings?
Viewed 2697 times since Fri, May 7, 2010
How do I use the Lantronix Device Installer to program a Seg?
Viewed 2539 times since Wed, Jan 20, 2016