Nortek Security and Control KB

How do I identify what Com Ports are available on my computer?

If using the 9 pin “To comp” adapter, the port will most likely be assigned to Comm 1.  If plugging into the computer with a USB, then the device manager will list what comm ports are being used.

  1.  Select the start menu and RIGHT CLICK “Computer” or “My  Computer”.  Select the last option in the dropdown – “Properties”. 

    2.  If using a Windows XP machine, select the “Hardware” Tab to select “Device Manager”.  Otherwise, select “Device Manager” on the left side of the screen.

 

 

1 (2)
Article Rating (2 Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
Why doesn’t my modem work with Hub Manager® version 8?
Viewed 3438 times since Tue, Apr 6, 2010
What devices are compatible with Dashboard?
Viewed 3043 times since Thu, Apr 8, 2010
How do I retrieve my list of users and controller settings?
Viewed 3139 times since Mon, Mar 15, 2010
Hub Manager®: com port is not working and the USB driver is installed
Viewed 5495 times since Mon, Apr 19, 2010
How do I change the Hub Modem ring settings?
Viewed 2697 times since Fri, May 7, 2010
How do I convert my HubManager Professional 7 database to HMP8?
Viewed 3344 times since Tue, Mar 17, 2015
I can’t open my downloaded installer program
Viewed 2747 times since Fri, May 14, 2010
I am trying to upgrade using my backup and it does not work.
Viewed 4505 times since Wed, Mar 24, 2010
I don’t know my password for Hub Manager®
Viewed 4762 times since Thu, Jul 7, 2011
How do I install the USB Driver?
Viewed 1513 times since Tue, Feb 3, 2015